The Northumberland County Council admission portal for application to Reception class is open 1 November 2023 until 15 January 2024.

NHFS Curriculum Themes and Intent

Teaching and learning fall into three broad areas: 
Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) - Nursery and Reception
Key Stage 1 (KS1) - Year 1 and Year 2
Key Stage 2 (KS2) - Year 3 and Year 4
Nursery and Reception follow the statutory framework for EYFS and Years 1-4 follow the National Curriculum. All staff work closely together to ensure continuity, consistency and excitement are key factors in planning. The curriculum is enhanced by visits and specialist input from a variety of sources. 
If you wish to find out more about the EY statutory framework please click on the link below 
If you wish to find out more information about the National Curriculum please click on the link below
If you have any questions or wish to find out more about our curriculum please contact the school office


Curriculum Intent Statements and Long Term Plans


The curriculum at New Hartley First School is broad, balanced and encourages the development of confident and well rounded individuals. We foster a love of learning and develop enquiring minds through encouraging our children to dream BIG!

 Our curriculum is rooted in our three core themes: Aspirations, Sustainability and Equality. Please see below for intent statements.